Uncategorized

ABCZ Muffins

A few days ago we had a bunch of overripe bananas hanging out on the counter. So I got it into my head that banana muffins + carrot cake = banana carrot muffins, and went off to find the Ultimate Recipe on Pinterest.

Thing is, it was a little too ultimate. As in, I didn’t have enough carrots. So I improvised.

DSC_0037.JPG

This, a fairly straightforward muffin with banana, carrot, and zucchini, slowly transformed into a frankenmix of six different ingredients, all in an attempt to get the right amount of fruit/veg into the batter. As I waited for the muffins to cook, part of me wondered whether I’d invented something with so many flavors that we wouldn’t be able to eat them without making a face.

Fortunately, I was very wrong. These muffins are amazing. Even after reducing the sugar from 1 cup to 1/3 cup, replacing half the flour with oats, replacing most of the carrots with applesauce, and tossing in ingredients it didn’t even call for, these things stayed edible.

DSC_0030.JPG

Here’s the recipe. I almost titled these “Everything Muffins”, so don’t be afraid to experiment like I did. If you’re out of one fruit and have plenty of another, feel free to mix-and-match and let me know how it turns out.Speaking of titles, the ABCZ stands for Apple, Banana, Carrot, and Zucchini, since those are the main ingredients.

~~~

ABCZ Muffins

Makes: 2 dozen

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 cups rolled oats
2 1/2 tsp cinnamon
2 1/4 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/3 cup brown or white sugar (Can be increased by up to 1 cup, especially if you have more veggies than fruit in your muffin mix.)
2 cups apple sauce (I used homemade applesauce; it has chunks of apple in it that make for an interesting texture.)
1 cup mashed banana
1 cup carrots, peeled and grated
1/2 cup zucchini, grated
1/2 cup peanut butter (I also added around 2 tbsp of plain yogurt, but that’s just because we didn’t quite have enough peanut butter to fill up the measuring cup.)
1/2 cup shredded coconut
4 eggs
1 1/2 tbsp vegetable oil (I used olive oil; we never have vegetable oil at my house.)
2 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 400°F.
  • In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, oats, cinnamon, baking soda, salt, and baking powder.
  • In a larger bowl, stir together the sugar, apple sauce, banana, carrots, zucchini, peanut butter, shredded coconut, eggs, oil, and vanilla.
  • Stir the dry ingredients to the wet, making sure not to over-mix.
  • Pour the batter into lined or greased muffin tins. If you want nice, big muffins, fill them so that the batter comes up over the top a little. If you want smaller muffins, you could probably turn 2 dozen into 3 dozen by filling them up halfway instead.
  • Bake for 20-25 minutes.
    Note: 
    I recommend eating these with cream cheese lathered on top, but then again, maybe I just really like cream cheese. They do remind me of carrot cake a little bit when I spread cream cheese on top.

 

 

Leave a Reply

